The KKK’s Long-Term Plan To Suppress Blacks Is Revealed!

Perhaps you knew that St. Louis gazillionaire Rex Sinquefield is behind the move in Missouri to eliminate the state’s income tax in favor of a higher and highly regressive sales tax, and perhaps you knew he supports the elimination of teacher tenure in Missouri, but I bet you didn’t know he was an expert on the origins of public schools in America.

From Rudi Keller of The Columbia Daily Tribune today:

Millionaire conservative activist Rex Sinquefield seemed to embrace an unusual theory of why the U.S. has public schools Thursday in St. Charles — he said the Ku Klux Klan is responsible and that it was part of the racist hate group’s program for keeping blacks suppressed.

During a lecture at Lindenwood College, Sinquefield explained his opposition to teacher tenure this way:

“You know what. There was a column written and I hope I don’t offend anyone,” Sinquefield said. “There was published column by a man named Ralph Voss, who was a former judge in Missouri. He now owns and writes for a newspaper in Central Missouri called the Unterrified Democrat — what a name — and it’s in Osage County, Missouri.

“And he starts off, something like this, he said a long time ago, decades ago, the Ku Klux Klan got together and said how can we really hurt the African-American children permanently? How can we ruin their lives? And what they designed was the public school system.”

Nothing unusual about that opinion, I would say. I mean, the KKK is such a far-sighted organization, I can see how it could plan such a brilliantly effective strategy so long ago—so brilliant, in fact, that the strategy was planned before there was a KKK! Man, that takes real savvy to pull off!

As Keller pointed out:

For the record, the idea that government, state and national, should fund public schools is older than the Klan, and, in fact, older than the U.S. Constitution. The first national government to set education policy for the states was the Continental Congress, operating under the Articles of Confederation. In one of the few lasting acts of our first national government, the Congress in 1787 set aside 640 acres in each township as it was surveyed, with proceeds from the sale of the land being used to establish public schools.

And the first public school in America, according to Wikipedia was founded in 1635. But when a Republican gazillionaire speaks, we should all listen. He must be really, really smart to have earned all that dough.  Isn’t that the heart of Mitt Romney’s campaign?

As for Sinquefield, he has now apologized, according to stltoday.com:

Retired investor Rex Sinquefield is apologizing for remarks he made Thursday at Lindenwood University when he quoted a former judge who claimed public schools were designed by the Ku Klux Klan to hurt African-American children.

He now says the comments were “ill-timed and inappropriate.”

Apparently, there is a time when such comments will not be ill-timed.

Can’t wait for that.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. Sadly many will listen…I mean there’s no such thing as a rich idiot is there? The self sense of worth beyond money is astounding.

    Like

    Reply
    • Dave,

      Some people who have a lot of money, who are also willing to use it to dramatically influence public policy, often hold views that, like their economic status, is out of touch with reality. It is something worth investigating for a budding sociologist just why most of the folks seem to be right-wing ideologues.

      Duane

      Like

      Reply
  2. ansonburlingame

     /  February 11, 2012

    Duane,

    I am still wondering what your point in this blog is all about.

    You begin with an eye-catching title involving the KKK. In your first paragraph you imply some linkage with a “gazzillionaire Repbulican.

    That Republican seems to have referenced something written by an “Unterrified Democrat” on how the KKK designed public education in America to hold back blacks. The Republican did not say such, he only referenced an “unterrified democrat” saying such.

    Now I know what you want to do. You want to use every opportunity to show linkage between “gazzillionaire Republicans” to the KKK. You even tried such a slight of hand with Romney a month or so ago.

    And when called on such attempts at “linkage” you fall back on “I didn’t do any such thing”.

    So again, I ask, what is your point in this blog?

    Is Sinquefield supportive of the KKK? Not that I could see.

    Did an “unterrified democrat” make an accusation against the KKK that seems to be rather far fetched? Seems to be the case as I read the above.

    Was the “unterrified democrat wrong in such an article? You made no comment on that point that I can see.

    But read the title and the first paragraph, again, and it sure seems like an attempt to link Sinquefield TO the KKK which seems false as I read the whole blog, including quotes from the article by the “unterrified democrat”.

    So again, what is your point other than to sling as much innuendo against the GOP using racial division in doing so?

    Anson

    Like

    Reply
    • Anson,

      Are you bleeping kidding me? Can you drop the Geoff Caldwell act long enough to understand the obvious point here: A rich Missourian who wants to influence public policy with his wealth said something utterly stupid (whether he was quoting someone else is beside the point; he quoted it in at least tacit support of it) about the public education system.

      It wasn’t a slam at him being for being a racist or supporting the KKK, it was a slam at him for believing a ridiculously stupid conspiracy theory about America’s attempt to educate all of its citizens. Why do you think Missouri teachers are so pissed off?

      Geeze.

      Duane

      Like

      Reply
  3. ansonburlingame

     /  February 13, 2012

    Leave Caldwell out of it. I speak for myself.

    A Republican quotes a Democrat.

    YOU say the Republican thus supports the Democrat.

    I say the Republican was showing how stupid the Democrat that wrote to statement had been.

    And you scramble all of that up in a titlle and first paragraph demeaning the Republicans wealth as well as IMPLYING some sort of KKK sentiment of the part of the Republican.

    NOW who is bleeping, whatever!!

    But don’t worry, I got your gist. GOP = KKK and “gazillions” as well.

    Anson

    Like

    Reply
    • Anson,

      I can’t prevent you from making false statements about me on your blog or wherever else you want to post them, but I’ll be damned if I will put up with it here.

      I’m going to tell you once more: I did not imply that Sinquefield was a racist or fond of the KKK. The post clearly states in the first paragraph:

      I bet you didn’t know he was an expert on the origins of public schools in America.

      Go that? It was about his views of public schools. And about his stupid presentation of a stupid conspiracy theory about public education. Again, got it? And I don’t know or care whether Ralph Voss is, was, or will be a Democrat. That has nothing to do with the point of the post.

      Just because a) you refuse to read carefully or b) can’t understand what you are reading but comment anyway or c) want to deliberately smear me (à la Caldwell), that doesn’t mean I have to put up with it.

      Saying I am suggesting that the “GOP=KKK” is Caldwellesque and not worthy of you, but if you persist with that lie, you can go play on your own playground with Geoff and stay the hell out of here.  As I have told you and Geoff before, neither of you are ordinary commenters but fellow Globe bloggers and as such I hold both of you to higher standards, like, for instance, not lying about what I have written.

      I am getting sick and bleeping tired of having to tell you guys this rudimentary stuff. You don’t just get to say whatever the bleep you want on my blog.

      Duane

      Like

      Reply
  4. ansonburlingame

     /  February 14, 2012

    Duane,

    Enough of the THREATS, Duane. This is a public blog and as long as I adhere to the standards articulated by the Globe I have as much right to post comments here as anyone else.

    I do NOT call you names. I do NOT ridicule you. But I CHALLENGE your views.

    What I do is offer a different perspective on the subjects upon which you write and opine. Note the stated objective of my own blog, “to find solutions to vexing problems today”.

    Now compare that objective to yours, a blog of “repetance” for having once been a conservative and an evangelical. As you have stated, you write polemically to show how wrong conservatives and evangelicals might be IN YOUR VIEW.

    And now you tell me to no longer express objections to your views in YOUR blog. Well as long as you publish what I consider to be WRONG, in a PUBLIC blog sponsored by a public newspaper, you will see me here all the time but using acceptable standards to object as well.

    And I will restate my OBSERVATION, that twice in the last month or so you have written blogs “linking” two Republican candidates to the KKK. The whole point of both blogs adhered to your theme to show how WRONG members of the GOP have become in racial issues.

    I disagree and state why I disagree. The last time I checked there is something in the First Amendment about such efforts on my part. And you of course have every right to refute my observations.

    I also sense increasing frustration on your part in such refutation. That MIGHT be that you are out on a limb in your indignation of all things GOP and evangelical, particularly when you entile a blog KKK and immediately launch into something you see a Republican doing or saying. And then of course refering to the Catholic Church as an “Iron Age” church, seems to me to be a stretch as well. But that is for you and your readers to decide.

    anson

    Like

    Reply
    • Anson,

      1) You have exactly ZERO First Amendment rights on this blog. You post here at the pleasure of the publisher, just like I don’t have a constitutional right to post on your site.

      2) You wrote,

      And now you tell me to no longer express objections to your views in YOUR blog.

      You can’t even get that right. I did not tell you to no longer express objections to what I write. You have done so for three years now, mostly without problems. What I told you was that you are not free—as a fellow Globe blogger—to blatantly accuse me of something I most obviously did not do. I will tolerate such stuff from general commenters, but not from fellow Globe associates.

      You lied about what I have said about Sinquefeld and the KKK—I did not link him to any form of racism; it was about education—and you are not even gentleman enough to go back and reread the piece and reevaluate whether you were wrong. You also did not supply any evidence to substantiate your claim. You simply saw KKK and Republican in the same piece and jumped to an erroneous conclusion.

      3) My frustration has to do with your inability to understand plain English and to actually follow what is written, rather than make inferences based on your imagination. Again, I will tell you that you do not have an unfettered right—on my own site—to say anything you want.

      4) For the record, the story has made the national press, along with Sinquefield’s apology. You tell me: Why would a guy apologize for something you don’t seem to have a problem with? He said,

      “I apologize for my reference to a quote from Ralph Voss of the Unterrified Democrat. The public discourse on these issues is too critical for an ill-timed, inappropriate reference. It is my sincere hope that this does not distract us from the important mission of helping all children access high quality education.”

      Education. Got it? It was about education, not race.

      5) If any reply to this comment includes a restatement of your original charge, it will be deleted.

      Duane

      Like

      Reply
  5. It’s a shame that the real significance of this worthy post got polemically side-tracked. Public education, as I see it, is the victim of a serious dichotomy. It’s purpose is pure and moral, to provide equal access for all, regardless of economic status, to a good education, tailored even to the individual’s varying talents, ambition and capacity.

    Unfortunately, I believe the system has bogged down over they years by too much political tinkering. In the interests of social equality the public system evolved into lock-step curricula that bore the gifted and discourage the slow, and I believe frustration about that is what motivated Sinquefield’s regretted utterances. Like many powerful men, he assumed a power to influence to which he was not entitled. But, I share his frustration. In my opinion, education was better in the one-room schoolhouse – at least when the pols left the teacher to her own devices.

    I wish I knew a way to de-couple religion and politics from the process of teaching. The model would be capitalism, but how to do it? Aye, there’s the rub.

    Like

    Reply
  6. ansonburlingame

     /  February 15, 2012

    OK, sticking strictly to the issue of education, my favorite subject since I started writing publicly.

    Bottom line, in my view, K12 public education simply STINKS today and the KKK has nothing to do with it, period. As well NEITHER the GOP nor Democrats have a clue how to fix it, public education.

    Now go reread the Bell Curve or the new book by Murray, Coming Apart. He explains, statistically and anectodotally, the emergence of the “cogonitive elite” in our society since the 1960’s in both books.

    He makes a compelling case that that NEW class is historically UNIQUE in our entire history. The point of the book as stated in his pprologue is to try to show the existence of this unique and NEW class within American society today. His purpose is NOT to figure out what to do about it.

    You detest income inequality, Duane. So do I to a degree. But in my view there is little that government can do about it while you think government can and should “fix it” through progressive taxation, take from Peter to pay Paul, using government force.

    Murray claims such will never happen and presents his case why. Eduators and now liberals (he only address socio-economics in his latest book) are outraged at his views. I consider Murray’s views part of the argument today and tend to agree with many of his statistics and views.

    But in matters related to education, the KKK nor party positions have anything (for the KKK) or little to do with that problem, one of our biggest in America today, in my view.

    And to address Jim’s concern, a legitimate one politically, I DO have views on how to fix K12 public education and have written extensively on such matters.

    Anson

    Like

    Reply
  7. ansonburlingame

     /  February 15, 2012

    As well and at the risk of being “deleted” I quote Duane, below:

    “But when a Republican gazillionaire speaks, we should all listen. He must be really, really smart to have earned all that dough. Isn’t that the heart of Mitt Romney’s campaign?”

    For sure it conforms to the stated intention of his blog.

    Anson

    Like

    Reply
  8. Jane Reaction

     /  February 15, 2012

    Anson: If this were Jane’s blog, your constant drivel would disappear.

    Like

    Reply
  9. ansonburlingame

     /  February 15, 2012

    And THAT, Jane, is why I woudl NEVER go so far as to read anything you write. At least Duane writes with enough sense to make commenting a legitimate attempt to debate. You as you well know usually go into my own ignore category and you shoujld do the same with my commetnts herein to this blog. You are a jerk in my view and I am sure you share the them same sentiments about me. Just leave it at that .

    I would also point out that if your blog ever received Globle sponorship, which seem remote to me given your crazy ideas, your making my comments “vanish” would be subject to the same debate held a few months ago herein. Note that Geoff and I remain commenters herein despite whether you like them or not. And you as always may comment on my blog and be ignored by me, at least, given your “jerky” ideas and ways of expressing them.

    anson

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 642 other followers

