“Over Our Dead Bodies!”

Sherrod Brown is my favorite U.S. Senator. He epitomizes what a public-spirited politician should be.  I’ll be pissed if he loses his seat in November, but pissed is about as far as I will go.

However, running against Brown this year is a man named Josh Mandel, Ohio State Treasurer, and a “Marine Corps veteran who did a couple of tours in Iraq,” he says. Well, this veteran managed to say the following, with Mitt Romney by his side, who then joined the crowd as it applauded Mandel’s remarks:

Barack Obama and Sherrod Brown have waged a war on coal. They think coal is a four-letter word. I’ll tell you this afternoon, for any of these folks trying to stand between us and affordable, reliable, dependable energy, we have four words for them: over our dead bodies!

Hmm. I wonder what Mr. Mandel, Marine Corps veteran, could mean by that? And why would Mittens affirm it?

Perhaps Sherrod Brown should get Secret Service protection now.

Previous Post
Next Post

6 Comments

  1. Geez, one would think a USMC veteran would know how to spell “Corps”. Corp is an abbreviation for corporation. Or corporal, which is maybe what he was? I dunno, but maybe Mitt endorsed him without knowing that, he never having served himself. If Mitt gets elected, however, I sure hope somebody teaches him how to salute, something I’m confident is not in the Mormon Missionary Guide.

    Like

    • As far as I know Mitt kept a mansion in Paris safe from the Vietcong. I guess somebody had to volunteer for dangerous bicycle recon duty.

      Like

      • You never know, since those militant communists were everywhere in 1968! For those who don’t know, here is what you reference about Mittens’ war work:

        …the Republican presidential hopeful spent a significant portion of his 30-month mission in a Paris mansion described by fellow American missionaries to The Daily Telegraph as “palace”. It featured stained glass windows, chandeliers, and an extensive art collection. It was staffed by two servants – a Spanish chef and a houseboy.

        Although he spent time in other French cities, for most of 1968, Mr Romney lived in the Mission Home, a 19th century neoclassical building in the French capital’s chic 16th arrondissement. “It was a house built by and for rich people,” said Richard Anderson, the son of the mission president at the time of Mr Romney’s stay. “I would describe it as a palace”.

        Like

    • The corp-corps thing in this piece about corpses was my fault, as I didn’t notice the source I cut and pasted it from had so spelled it, and since I was in a hurry to get around to drinking with good friends, I failed to proofread and correct, as I have now done, which won’t happen again over my corpse!

      Like

  2. ansonburlingame

     /  August 17, 2012

    COAL is BAD and therefore will will replace it with…… (Solyndra anyone?).

    Give us your PLAN Dems, a comprehensive energy plan and I will listen. Put nukes online ASAP and I will even listen to cap and trade again as an incentive. Or I will listen to Natural gas but you can’t cap and trade that fuel!!

    Remember HOPING for new technologies is far different from being able to burn technology today to produce the electricity demanded by Americans. Shutdown coal fired plants because EPA mandates are too expensive to install and watch what the availability of electricity, on demand electricity as well as its cost will do, actually is doing right here in Joplin as two coal fired plants are monthballed.

    Anson

    Like

