Romney And Robertson Are Out To Prove God Wrong?

His internal polls must be showing a deficiency in tongue-talking evangelical support for Mittens’ Magical Mormonism.

Why else would Romney appear with that crazy evangelist who talks to TV cameras and God for a living, Pat Robertson? With Robertson approvingly looking on, Romney uttered this weird rhetorical trifecta on Saturday:

I will not take God out of the name of our platform. I will not take God off our coins, and I will not take God out of my heart.

Wow! Thank God that God is safe from yet another Bain Capital downsizing! Those things can get messy you know. One day you think you’ve got a job—in this case God was workin’ three jobs!—and then in comes Bain and faster than you can say Holy Shih Tzu! you’re outta there.

For his part, the electronic evangelist, who on Tuesday said the Democratic Party is “the party of gays, godlessness and whatever else,” had previously endorsed Mittens, despite saying in 2011,

I’ve personally backed off from direct political involvement. I’ve been there, done that. The truth of the matter is politics is not going to change our world. It’s really not going to make that much of a difference.

Well, God ain’t nothing if he ain’t fickle, and apparently the Almighty has taken a divine shine to Mittens and Mormonism, so much so that Romney and Robertson can pal around together in the name of, uh, Jesus? Or is it in the name of Joseph Smith? Ayn Rand? Clint Eastwood?—no, can’t be him. I think he’s still alive. I forget who it is.

In any case, there are plenty of places you can go on the Internet to see the nutty things Robertson has said and done, and I have written plenty about them myself (here and here for instance). Suffice it to say now that I am quite intrigued by the Romney appearance with Pat Robertson because in January of this year Pat Robertson told his viewers the following:

I spent the better part of a week in prayer and just saying, “God just show me something,” and I’ll share with you—uh, some things I’ll share with you. I think he showed me about the next president but I’m not supposed to talk about that, so I’ll leave you in the dark…but I think I know who it’s gonna be.

Okay, Pat Robertson thinks he knows who will win in November. Wait, I’m sorry. He thinks God told him who the next president will be. That’s kind of different, ain’t it?

And, lucky you,  if you watch the entire segment below, you will know too. You can figure it out from what Robertson says God told him, things like “this country will begin disintegrating.” We all know that must mean that Obama wins because any candidate Robertson and God endorses would not countenance the disintegration of the country, right? Well, right?

But I am wondering why, if Romney believes in Robertson and if Robertson heard from God that Romney is already a loser, why would the loser still keep on campaigning such that he might prove Robertson and God both wrong? Wait. Can you actually prove God wrong? Huh?

Beats me. I just don’t know. But I do know that if you watch the entire segment below you will deduce who will win in November as well as note that, as I said at the time, God has replaced his message of “good tidings of great joy” with,

Your country will be torn apart by internal stress. A house divided cannot stand. Your president holds a radical view of the direction of your country which is at odds with the majority. Expect chaos and paralysis. Your president holds a view which is at the odds with the majority — it’s a radical view of the future of the country…the future of the world is at stake…

Previous Post

9 Comments

  1. Dave Reed

     /  September 10, 2012

    Christianity and Mormonism do not reconcile…..I don’t hold to either and find it interesting that Christians calling Obama a Muslim or any Christians for that matter view Mitt as Christian. He’s not.

    Like

    • Dave,

      When I was being “educated” in the evangelical church, I learned that Mormonism was a cult, and a particularly dangerous one because it was so fast growing. I have made the point that if evangelicals put Mitt Romney in the White’s House, they will have validated Mormonism as a legitimate Christian entity. Thus, I will never let them forget it.

      Duane

      Like

  2. I couldn’t help but notice that Pat doesn’t reveal the form God used to reveal the future to him. Now if he had mentioned gold plates it might have bolstered his case.

    Oh. Wait. That’s right – the gold plates vanish after they’re transcribed. Never mind.

    Like

    • Ahh! The only gold plates Robertson has found are those on his dining table, courtesy of the many “givers” to his ministry, myself once among them, believe it or not.

      Like

  3. I understand Michael Moore is doing a new movie about Robertson and Romney: “Weird and Weirder”

    Like

  4. Yellow Dog

     /  September 10, 2012

    And the hits just keep on coming. Geeeze.

    Like

  5. ohnoyoudint

     /  September 11, 2012

    Romney/Ryan: “We do do that!”

    Like

  6. ansonburlingame

     /  September 11, 2012

    The GOP cannot seem to get off the “God kick”, sad to say, in my view. The Akin issue seems to have gone right over their head while they now try to beat up on Dems for the “platform fight” in the Dem convention.

    ONLY the evangelicals really give a hoot whether “God is in a platform” by and large and those folks will NOT an election win for the GOP. Any more than the OWS crowd or Duane Graham will win an election for Dems.

    Bob Beckel got it correct last night, in my view. No way can Obama “win” this election given his record. But the GOP can sure as hell lose it, big time.

    I look forward to a progressive blog defending the Chicago teachers union, but I doubt that I will see such. It is like Feinstein who is ahead in CA polls and refuses to debate her GOP opponent.

    Let’s see, only about 15% of Chicago students are proficient in math and english, the teachers are paid almost TWICE the average wage in Chicago and will get a 16% pay RAISE. But they still go on strike because the Dem mayor wants to hold them more accountable for terrible academic performance in Chicago schools.

    Anson

    Like

