President Rand Paul

I watched in its entirety Secretary of State Hillary Clinton’s appearance before the Senate Foreign Relations Committee this morning.

Predictably, the biggest grandstander in the current Senate, John McCain, did his grandstanding for his Fox “News” Channel fans. Ron Johnson of Wisconsin did the same. No doubt, both will be guests on Fox today and tonight.

But the biggest grandstander of them all was Rand Paul who, unbelievably, uttered this sentence:

Had I been president at the time and I found that you did not read the cables from Benghazi and did not read the cables from Ambassador Stevens, I would have relieved you of your post.

Now, although she is rather feisty and capable of putting Senator Paul (God, that makes me cringe) in his place, Hillary Clinton did not really do that. I, though, will write the response that she should have given the Senator from Kentucky:

Senator Paul, you said, “if you had been president” you would have fired me. Let me explain something to you: If there ever is a future time when the American people are stupid enough to put you in charge, nobody would have to worry about firing me. I would grab my family, those whom I love, and get the hell out of the country. As dangerous a place as Libya is, I’d rather live there than live any place in which you had real power.

Now, if you please, the thought of someone like you ever becoming president has made me ill yet again and I will have to take a break.

 

10 Comments

  1. Troy

     /  January 23, 2013

    I too watched her “trial” in its entirety and found the Secretary of State standing her ground, taking responsibility and providing clear and accurate answers. She more or less disarmed them. It seem to me that the real problem was Congress not freeing up the money to secure that embassy properly. And Rand Paul was a total jerk and ass. He was way out of line. He is so far to the right that he’s left. He’s the one who should be fired. What I saw today was a woman who was very Presidential. I hope she will run in 2016….u go girl!

    Like

    • Troy,

      She was presidential material, for sure. And you are right that she “disarmed them.” In fact, most of them, like Marco Rubio, didn’t even bother to take her on at all.

      Like

    • Herb,

      I love that graph plotting her favorable/unfavorable rating. Although she and Bill would never have guessed it in the spring of 2008, Obama has succeeded in helping her approval rating soar!

      Duane

      Like

  2. Robert J Roberts

     /  January 23, 2013

    She gets one “Attagirl” for her appearance!

    Like

    • Robert,

      I was so impressed I listened to some of her testimony again. Even more impressive the second time! And the fact that the right-wingers on Fox and elsewhere are pissed at their Republican legislators for not being tougher on her makes it perfect.

      Duane

      Like

  3. Shaming from the charlatan ophthamologist: Yow! Did Quack Rand Paul lose his certification because he has emotional and philosophical astigmatism — or because he’s simply a churlish, inarticulate (not quite as marble-mouthed as his daddy) cretin?

    Like

  4. Roby

     /  January 25, 2013

    236 U.S. Embassy employees were killed or injured while serving their country under the Bush Administration and not one peep from Republicans.

    Like

    • Roby,

      I thought the same thing, going even further back. Can you imagine what Fox “News” and talk radio would do to Barack Obama if he presided over the killing of all those Marines in Beirut in 1983? There wouldn’t be a safe place in the entire country for Obama to go.

      RDG

      Like

