Trust God But Verify

In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.

—From a Psalm of David, who was not from Arkansas

If I jumped in my car right now I could be in Arkansas in a little more than 45 minutes. Of course, I wouldn’t want to go to Arkansas because, for God’s sake, it just ain’t safe to go to church there. At least not yet:

Arkansas House approves guns in church bill
Measure passed in Senate by 28-4 vote

From a separate Reuters story:

Nicholas Stehle, a member of the board of directors of the advocacy group Arkansas Carry said that it was a smart bill.

“It was past time for the legislature to get out of the business of our churches, and it appears that at least 113 legislators agree,” Stehle said. “This pro-First Amendment bill gives churches that can’t afford private security staff the ability to provide a safe environment for their congregants.”

Apparently, God has been too busy trying to get Republicans elected to mess with providing a safe environment for church goers. The Almighty has his priorities, after all.

Feeling compassionate, Democratic Guv’nor Mike Beebe is expected to sign the trust-God-but-verify bill. And, although it’s not clear who Bible believin’ folks should fear, the faithful can soon rest assured that someone in the congregation, with the law’s blessing, will place his or her real trust in a Smith and Weston or some other blue-steel god.

Amen.

6 Comments

  1. writer89

     /  February 5, 2013

    Cute. Their argument is that the government shouldn’t be telling churches that people can’t take guns there. So it’s a First Amendment issue. But wait… wouldn’t this new legislation actually prohibit churches from prohibiting guns? Isn’t that a little like the government prohibiting churches from prohibiting people of color? Or birth control? I’m confused. Or they are.

    Like

    • @ writer89,

      They’re confused all right. So far the only Arkansan I’ve identified down there who isn’t is Gene Lyons and that’s probably because he’s isolated on a farm. 😆

      Like

    • You have stumbled on the real motive behind all of this nonsense: It’s a demonic plot to confuse us all!

      Like

      • writer89

         /  February 6, 2013

        It would be working, were it not for people like us who understand them all too well! I’m just pretending to be confused. I know exactly how their minds work.

        Like

  2. Robert J Roberts

     /  February 5, 2013

    I keep thinking that gun stories can’t get any stranger, but I keep thinking wrong.

    Like

    • Robert,

      I just read a story today about a man who murdered two of his neighbors who lived above him in an apartment building. It seems they allowed their dog to piss on the outside balcony, which ran down onto his. As he faces life in prison or worse, I bet he wishes he didn’t have a gun on hand to vent his frustrations. This stuff is seemingly getting worse, no?

      Duane

      Like

