Remarks And Asides, 2/16/16

And I thought it was God who killed Justice Scalia in his sleep. Nope:

world nut daily scalia conspiracy

Just for the helluvit, here is the first paragraph from that WND article, written by a gal named, uh, Cheryl Chumley:

A couple of photographs of President Obama shaking hands with a wealthy Democrat Party donor named John Poindexter, who also owns the ranch resort where he found Supreme Court Justice Antonin Scalia dead, has fueled the whispers that radio host Michael Savage just gave wings to with the blunt broadcast question: “Was [he] murdered?

And just for fun, here is a comment on the article from a person called “brimp”:

Note to Trump, don’t take vacations with Obama cronies.

Note to brimp: There’s no way Obama would have Trumped killed. He is too valuable an asset for the Democratic Party.

___________________________

Speaking of Trump, I kid you not that I heard him asked yesterday, during that strange presser he did, how he deals with pressure. And, I kid you not, his answer, which was lost in all the talk of lies, lawsuits, and Bush II’s 9/11 liability, was the following:

I think I deal with pressure well. I mean, I’ve won many club championships—you have to deal with pressure—you know I deal with pressure, that’s what I do…

Yes. I can see how whacking a crucial drive in a club championship prepares you for the presidency. ISIS golfers must be trembling in fear, as they contemplate the sight of a driver-toting Donald walking up to the tee box. Thwack!

 

___________________________

Speaking of heavy-set golfers, Rush Limbaugh just said that,

Ted Cruz is the closest living thing to Ronald Reagan we’re ever going to have in our lifetimes. I don’t know what more I can say about Ted Cruz.

Maybe Rush, a former Trump cheerleader, doesn’t know what more he can say about Ted Cruz, but Trump does. He has now, cumulatively, called Ted Cruz an unstable lying Canadian pussy. If that’s the closest thing to Ronald Reagan we are ever going to have in our lifetimes, maybe there is a God.

____________________________

More Trump: Not only has he defined Cruz as an unstable lying Canadian pussy and threatened to sue him, he has attacked Bush II for not keeping the country safe and for starting a war that destabilized the Middle East. Of the low energy and sleepy Bush III he has said that “the last thing our jesus  trumpcountry needs is another BUSH! Dumb as a rock!” He compared Ben Carson to a child molester and said there’s no cure for his pathological disease. He has pointed out that Marco Rubio sweats like “he just came out of a swimming pool” and “when we get in with Putin we need people that don’t sweat.” He has connected John Kasich to the “crashed” Lehman Brothers and called him “a complete and total dud!” and a “total failure.”

The more I think about it, the more I am starting to realize that maybe there is a higher power after all and Trump was sent to us by a loving, all-knowing Democratic God.

______________________________

Speaking of Democrats, our president received some sage advice from the loving, all-knowing Newt Gingrich today about what Mr. Obama should do regarding the new Supreme Court vacancy:

If he really wants to get somebody approved, sit down with Mitch McConnell and with conservative senators like Mike Lee, ask them who they would approve and nominate somebody who is in the Scalia tradition.

Dammit! I bet Obama never even thought of that!  That’s exactly what he should do! Thanks, Newt!

_______________________________

And now, finally, back to that conspiracy in which talk radio nut Michael Savage suggests that Scalia may have been murdered. According to Media Matters, Donald Trump was
gop pillowactually a guest on the radio nut’s show and the radio nut asked Trump if he would support a Warren Commission-type investigation into Scalia’s death. Trump said he had just heard about the conspiracy talk and that he couldn’t give an answer, but:

They found a pillow on his face, which is a pretty unusual place to find a pillow.

Well, I can tell you one thing. If I were a Republican these days, placing a pillow, a very heavy pillow, over my face would be exactly what I’d do.

 

7 Comments

  1. Ben Field

     /  February 16, 2016

    I heard a comment today that Hillary had Scalia whacked like she did Vince Foster so could nominate Obama for SCOTUS. How do you even respond to that, other than laugh?

    Like

    • Let’s just hope Trump adopts that conspiracy and gets his opponents to stand up for Hillary!

      Like

    • King Beauregard

       /  February 16, 2016

      My response to that would be to pretend to dial a number on my cellphone and say, “Overlord, the plankton is bicycling. Repeat, the plankton is bicycling! Twelve o’clock, three feet in front of me, mark.”

      Like

  2. We hang the petty thieves and appoint the great ones to public office. — Aesop

    Like

  3. kbeck

     /  February 18, 2016

    I do not understand the current Republicans fascination with Ronald Reagan. (whom I cast my first Presidential vote) He was the first one to say “My secretary should not pay more taxes than me”. He also was against protecting ones home with an AK -47. These examples can be found on You tube. He was the President of the Screen Actors Guild and said union membership was an elemental human right. I have never looked at the Air Traffic Controller situation the same as I would a machinist or UAW strike. There was public safety at risk and he was encouraging the sides to keep working and to keep negotiating. Although he is credited with starting the anti-union revolt, I think it was dumb luck for the Republicans that this happened at a time when the “world economy” was taking hold.
    Ronald Reagan, in my opinion would not have made the first cut in the 2015 debates, he would have been at the kids table with the others. Can you imagine having this record in today’s Conservative world?

    Like

    • KB,

      You are totally correct. He was to the left of Obama on immigration reform, by the way. How would that play today? We don’t have to use much of our imaginations. His presidency has become mythical now. There are no facts you can point to that would sway the average Reagan worshiper away from the idea that their hero-god was anything but the best example of a conservative. They trot him out like he had no governing flaws, when the truth is out there for anyone to see. They just don’t want to see.

      RDG

      Like

