Yes, Donald Trump Has Sacrificed A Lot

When Khzr Khan, father of war hero U.S. Army Captain Humayun Khan, spoke at the Democratic convention last week, he now-famously chastised Donald Trump:

Go look at the graves of brave patriots who died defending the United States of America. You will see all faiths, genders and ethnicities. You have sacrificed nothing and no one.

Trump, stupidly, replied on ABC’s This Week:

STEPHANOPOULOS: How would you answer that father? What sacrifice have you made for your country?

TRUMP: I think I have made a lot of sacrifices. I’ve work very, very hard. I’ve created thousands and thousands of jobs, tens of thousands of jobs, built great structures. I’ve done — I’ve had tremendous success.

STEPHANOPOULOS: Those are sacrifices?

TRUMP: Oh, sure. I think they’re sacrifices. I think when I can employ thousands and thousands of people, take care of their education, take care of so many things. Even in the military, I mean, I was responsible along with a group of people for getting the Vietnam Memorial built in downtown Manhattan, which to this day people thank me for. I’ve raised millions of dollars for the vets.

Leaving aside how dumb it was for Trump to compare what he listed as his sacrifices to the sacrifices of families who have given up flesh and blood, or leaving aside the dubious claims he made, Trump could simply have demonstrated how much he has sacrificed by showing Stephanopoulos this portrait done by artist Ralph Wolfe Cowan:

Guests are greeted by a portrait of the young Trump in a tracksuit

That puke-inducing gem apparently hangs on a guest-greeting wall in Trump’s Mar-A-Lago Club in Palm Beach. The artist who gave it to the world said:

I saw him there working, getting the pools changed and such. But I didn’t want to paint him in his blue suit. Those were his New York clothes. I wanted to give him a Florida look.

“Florida look”? Somehow I don’t think you’ll ever see that image in a tourist brochure saying, “Come here and get the Florida look!” But in terms of sacrifices, it does show how far Trump will go to make white people feel at home in his club with its $100,000 initiation fee (plus $14,000 a year thereafter). And if he’ll do that for those wealthy white people, if he’ll sacrifice his blue-suit-red-tie brand by donning a tennis ensemble from the roaring 1920s to remind people just how great White America used to be, just think what he’ll do for all those working stiffs in Ohio and Pennsylvania and elsewhere.

Khzr Khan should apologize to Trump, who obviously has sacrificed so much for his country.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

